manaḥpraśamanopāyo yoga ityabhidhīyate॥

- ​​Mahopaniṣad 5.42

Yoga is an art and science that is inextricably tied to the union of individual and global consciousness. The term yoga derives from the Sanskrit word 'Yuj,' which means "union." This marriage of mind and body depicts man's interaction with nature. In our hectic lifestyles, we lose touch with other people and, as a result, with nature. We may understand and reconnect with nature and the cosmic awareness by taking a minute and simply breathing properly. Pranayama, or controlled yogic breathing, enhances life energy.

Yoga sutras of Maharishi Patanjali:

The 8 limbs of Yoga described in the Yoga Sutras.

  • Yamas -​​Yamas are the ethical rules in Hinduism.
  • Niyamas -Niyamas are the ​virtuous habits and observances.
  • Āsana - Asana is a posture that one can hold for a period of time.
  • Prāṇāyāma - Prāṇāyāma is the control of the breath.
  • Pratyāhāra - Pratyahara is drawing within one's awareness.
  • Dhāraṇā -​​Dharana means concentration,focus and one-pointedness of mind.