śarīrendriya satvātmā saṃyogo॥

- ​Charaka Saṃhita, Sūtra1.42

Ayurveda is the Atharva Veda's Upaveda (sub- or near-veda). It is also known as the Panchama Veda (5th veda). Ayurveda is made up of two words: Ayu and Veda. Ayu does not simply mean life; it refers to the union of Shareera (body), Indriya (sense organs), Satva (mind), and Atma (soul), and Veda refers to knowledge. As a result, Ayurveda refers to the study of the integration of the body, sensory organs, mind, and soul. So when people bless you with the phrase ‘दीर्घायुषी भव।’ (dīrghāyuṣī bhava।), it signifies that you should be in oneness with all of the aforementioned factors for a long period!

Principles that govern Ayurveda:

Ayurveda is based on mainly three principles –

  • Samanya Vishesha Siddhantha (Ordinary – Special Principle).
  • Panch Mahabhoota Siddhantha (5 Fundamental elements Principle).
  • Tridosha Siddhantha (Tri-defect Principle).